Barcelona Express 2017

I was surfing on Facebook when I saw a post about Barcelona Express, a hitchhiking competition. It caught my attention so I looked for more information. The words adventure, challenge and competition convinced me! The competition starts from Brussels, Paris or Amsterdam, to Barcelona.

1500 km, 5 days, 4 countries, 300 teams, 1 winner

b express.PNG

The challenge? Be the first to arrive in Barcelona to win… a trip around the world! DEAL! Let’s do it! I subscribed myself and my boyfriend as a team.

The race is divided in 5 steps, unknown for now, we will discover it every morning. At every step, we will have some little games that allow us to win bonus time. If it’s sportive games… well, I am not sportive at all, but I am a competitor and I am a travel lover so I will give my best to win this trip around the world!

I must say that it is quite a challenge for me. It’s the first time that I will travel with a backpack, and sleep in a tent. So I had to prepare myself for this adventure and buy new stuffs! If like me, you are also planning to do this kind of adventure for the first time, maybe the list below will interest you.


Camping material

  • Tent
  • Backpack 50L
  • Water bladder
  • Pillow
  • Matras
  • Waterproof bag

Clothes/accessories

  • 2 light pants
  • 1 t-shirt per day (I won’t have the opportunity to wash my clothes)
  • Sweats/ for the evenings
  • Underwears for each day
  • Sneakers
  • Flip-flops
  • Headscarfs
  • Sunglasses
  • Swimsuit
  • Clothes for the night

Hygiene/products

  • Shower gel
  • Shampoo
  • Toothbrush
  • Toothpaste
  • Microfibre towels
  • Tissues
  • Wipes for intimal hygiene
  • Baby wipes
  • Eyeglass cleaner wipes
  • Coton buds
  • Antibacterial gel
  • Sunscreen

Technology:

  • Phone
  • Power bank
  • Charger

Other:

  • A first aid kit
  • Documents
  • Money
  • Flashlight
  • Earplugs
  • Plastic bags

You have to keep in mind that you need to pack light because you will have to carry everything.

TIP: before your roadtrip, prepare your bag with the things you will need and go for a walk with your bag; this will allow you to figure out if it is too heavy and if you need to fix the adjustements.

Barcelona Express will lead me through Belgium, France and Spain… meeting new people, discovering new places and experiencing a new way of travelling!

During this adventure, I will post on my social media so you can follow me!

Follow me on my Facebook and Instagram

A big thank to my sponsors for their help in this crazy adventure: Nestlé, ANCHOVY., Midizen, Sylandys, Oselacom, Percom Consulting,and HELHa.


Lily in the world

One thought on “Barcelona Express 2017

Leave a Reply

